100 Medical Plaza Dr., Suite 630
Los Angeles, CA
Google Map Icon

Ribbons

Badges

Mario Deng

Medicine,

Bio

I am a Professor of Medicine – cardiology at UCLA. My research has been focusing on interactions between the cardiovascular and immune system. As a postdoctoral fellow at Stanford University (1992/1993), I carried out gene expression studies of proinflammatory cytokines in the rat heart transplantation model. As the Medical Director of the Interdisciplinary Heart Failure & Transplantation Program at Muenster University (1992-2000), subsequently as Director of Cardiac Transplantation Research at Columbia University (2000-2011), as past Medical Director of the Mechanical Circulatory Support Device Database of the International Society for Heart and Lung Transplantation (2001-2006) and Medical Director of the UCLA Advanced Heart Failure/Mechanical Support/Heart Transplant program (2011-2016).